Skip to content

Filling godly shoes

June 11, 2012

I’ve finally started on my new novel, and in the past few weeks I’ve written… eight pages. The most difficult part is putting in the research. When I began “Apollo,” I read and read about Greek mythology and the gods. Then, as the story evolved, the characters became my own. The mythology morphed. Now, for the sequel, I’m rereading the mythology, but it’s a challenge. Although the ancient stories and gods come into play for me, they aren’t the same…. So I’m reading and thinking, “But that’s not how Zeus would respond….” You’d think that would open up ideas of how MY gods would react in these myths, but instead it scares me. Such big shoes to fill, so many ways to screw it up…. And I have to tell myself to just go with it.

From → Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

