Skip to content

Teaching for passion, for life

May 16, 2012

For a few years, I’ve written stories that blend mythology and history, and the projects excite me. This led me to wonder why I’m so passionate these certain topics. Then it dawned on me–

I wasn’t the best student in school. I had vision and learning problems and especially struggled in  math and science. In second grade, though, I tested into what Alabama called its PACE program. One day a week, about 15 “advanced” seven- to ten-year-olds gathered in a classroom and learned what our teacher wanted to teach us that month. And we were excited to find out what that was. I remember learning about the Soviet Union, and our questions  led to a month’s work on World War II. I learned things about human history I never imagined. Then he taught Norse, Greek, and Roman mythology. We read stories, acted them out, learned the characters, and wrote our own myths to act. I don’t remember anything I learned in my actual classroom that year (I remember failing to learn multiplication and not getting it till around fifth grade), but I can still quote from those lessons in PACE. As a teenager, I never understood why my interests always revolved around history and literature, but looking back on 2nd grade I can see it.

I’ve heard a lot of rumors about the public school system. My son is almost three, so we have a few years before I have to worry about his teachers, but I hope he has some who realize that it’s the fun–not the sitting around reading and quoting–that helps children learn things for life and become passionate about it.

From → Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

