Skip to content

Pen and ink sans tech

April 12, 2012

I’ll be mostly technology-less for the next week, and I’m actually looking forward to it. I can sit back and work on the sequel to “Apollo.” My writing style is not computer-friendly. The narrative I type is technical and… well, horrible. I enjoy writing in a thick notebook with a dark, soft-tipped pen. My mind goes to that poetic place and I find myself writing page after page, not wanting to stop. The same goes for editing rough drafts. I suppose I’m an enemy to the environment or some such, but I can’t edit on the computer. I have to print it and read it like a book . Hopefully this time next week I’ll come home with chapter upon chapter to put in Word!

From → Editing, Writing

2 Comments
  1. Go for it. I admire anyone who uses old technology.

  2. It seems we are similar in this. I carry around the small 5 x 3 notebooks and a pilot G2 fine tip pen. Almost all of my work is done like this, unless it’s a quick 1000 word or less short. After my first draft I type it up and print it out to edit. It’s about whatever makes you comfortable if you ask me. Congrats on the book, and I hope you enjoy your trip.

Leave a Reply

