Skip to content

Two down, countless to go

March 30, 2012

I finally did it. Two days ago, I finished the rough draft of my second novel at a whopping 680 pages–which likely will become 500 when I’m done. I’m a rambler, and the editing process has not been easy. One of my biggest frustrations in editing other writers’ works is finding things said in five words that could be said in one. But I’m guilty of it, too. I also tend to mix up work and pleasure. My day job is technical writing/editing, and I fight moving from one style to the other. Doctoral thesis language does not make for a good YA fantasy novel. I also work in Spanish, so I’m finding lots of “She walked up to the son of the man” and other needless pronouns.

So now my rambling here is done, and I’m off to chop more words. Others in the middle of editing keep your chins up and your coffee close. A writer’s job is never done. Especially since we never seem satisfied with the end result.

From → Editing, Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

